Thirty-five crews have confirmed their participation in the fifth edition of the Kabalega rally that starts on Friday, October 22, 2021, with scrutineering and ends on Saturday, October 23, 2021, with the prize-giving in Hoima.

The two-day event organised by United Motorsport Club (UMOSPOC) has attracted all the big boys including three-time national champions Jas Mangat and Ronald Sebuguzi.

The others Hassan Alwi co-driven by Kenya’s James Mwangi, Duncan Mubiru aka Kikankane, and Arthur Blick Jr. are also targeting to celebrate a win after the event.

However, here is the party spoiler, city advocate Musa Kabega navigated by Rogers Sirwomu in Mitsubishi lancer Evolution 9.

Sponsored by the International University of East Africa, Alwi, a two-time Kabalega Rally champion in 2017 and 2018 is one of the drivers that is counted on this year’s trophy.

“For us, we are ready for the show. Everything is in place and we are just waiting for the drivers to show us what they have,” Event Manager Alex Kikonyogo said.

Mubiru won the Sembabule rally and tops the NRC log, Jas Mangat won the Kasanda rally and targets a win in Hoima, Alwi eyes is the third win of the event while Blick targets to defend his trophy having won the 2019 edition.

Duncan Mubiru leading the log with 270 points, 40 ahead of Alwi in the second position, target sealing his NRC title quest in the event, and has ordered for new shocks. That is what makes this year’s edition highly billed.

However, City advocate Musa Kabega who originates from Hoima navigated by Rogers Sirwomu in Mitsubishi Evo9 has vowed to spoil the party by winning the rally in his homeland.

Competitors will battle out in seven stages, Kinogozi (26kms), World Wide Movers 25kms, and Bugambe Tea Estate 17kms shall be repeated twice totalling to competitive stages to 106kms and 220km liaison.

The two-day event supported by Worldwide Movers, International University of East Africa, Grand Praclos hotel, Kontik hotel, Mika resort Hotel, and Hoima Resort, will be held in Hoima and Kikuube districts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *