Stephen Kiprotich with the Prisons Flag. PHOTO BY Kinthan Images.

Uganda Prisons have been among the top performers in athletics as forces continue to dominate athletics in the country for the last decade.

Police, Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA), Uganda Police and Uganda Prisons have always produced top stars in the country.

However, during the national cross-country championship in Tororo , results shows that Prisons are on the sinking side, and the management would have to return to the drawing board to sort out the challenges.

After the Stephen Kiprotich performances, the Warders have not got a suitable replacement and in the 2022, national cross country championship in Tororo, Prisons celebrated much Zena Chebet fifth finish after failing to win any medal in the senior women 10kms.

The 10km Senior women photo by Kinthan Images

UWA and Police impressively claimed a combined medal haul of twelve (12) with the wildlife rangers being the overall winners of the championships having scooped more gold medals than any other club.

Dismas Yeko (Junior Men 8km), Ali Chebures (Senior Men 10km), and Tom Giadiga (Mixed race 2km) won the three gold medals for the rangers.

The silver medals came out of the superb performances by Sarah Chelangat (Senior Women 10km), Loice Chekwemoi (Junior women 6km), and Geoffrey Kusuro (Senior Men 10km).

The second-best club of the championships was the usual suspect, Police as they engineered a beautiful performance of 2 gold, 2 silver, and 2 bronze medals.

Two gold medals were courtesy of Mercylin Chelangat and Scarlet Chebet who produced classy acts in Senior and junior women categories, respectively.

In the 8km junior men category, Martin Kiprotich relentless run to victory wining police their first silver of the afternoon.

The other silver came in the 2km Mixed Race after some fashionable running by the 21-year-old Febia Chemutai.

Inspector of Police (IP) Peruth Chemutai the Olympics gold medalist, put up an aggressive run but fall short of a gold as she claimed the bronze medal in the senior women 10km race that was won by Chelangat Mercylin followed by Chelangat Sarah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *