By Dorothy Nekesa

Uganda women’s Cricket team, The Victoria Pearls on Wednesday, December 21, 2022, was crowned champions for the Women’s T20 Tournament in Nairobi after edging hosts Kenya in the final by 6 wickets.

Kenya won the toss and went on to bat first in the final scoring 80 runs thanks to a great display from Evelyn Anyipo (3/12) and Captain Consy Aweko (2/11). 

In response, Proscovia Alako (30) blew away the Kenyans with two sixes and 3 boundaries with her thirty coming off only 13 balls.

There was a mini collapse but Immaculate Nakisuyi (18) and Stephanie Nampiina (14) ensured that there was no more damage done as Uganda won with over 51 balls to spare. 

Janet Mbabazi was named the tournament MVP after she garnered 116 runs and picked 9 wickets in the tournament. 

The quadrangular tournament featured Uganda, Tanzania, Qatar and hosts Kenya.

Uganda won 5 games in the group and the only loss they registered in the whole tournament was against Tanzania.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *